Solo and Ensemble

By: Heaven Marquez

Solo and ensemble is a competition for the band members of PHS to showcase their musical talent for a chance at going to State- and compete they did!

“Students rehearse and get [music] ready specifically for this contest”, said band director Solis. “It’s something we don’t usually do in band class, it’s something they do outside of school.” The students can either compete individually or can form a small group to play a song of their choice together. The competition, which was supposed to be in February, was postponed due to the snow storm we experienced, and rescheduled to Thursday, March 4th. 

The mighty Eagle band did incredibly well this year with 47 participants and 17 advancing on to State. Those moving on will be soloists freshman Emily Bernal, sophomores Michaela Anguiano, Kevin Tucker, Kamryn Kendrick, and juniors William Rowe and Addyson Dority. Ensembles that are continuing include senior clarinets Claire Benavidez, Diya Chandra, and Valentina Gasca-Tellez, with another woodwind group being made up of seniors Mya Cashiola, Abigail Perez, and juniors Savannah Clark, and Jadelyn Garcia. Advancing as well is a brass quintet which includes seniors Reese Decker, Austin King, Cody Mills, junior Kristina Mertz, and sophomore Cesar Garcia. Another woodwind group going on to State consists of juniors Jadelyn Garcia, Aries Uhl, Brody Wornell, and freshman Jaden Ogg.

“Once we go to State, we basically play our piece again in front of another judge, and… if we advance further, we go to Area…,” said senior clarinet Diya Chandra. UIL has recently decided to have groups and individuals record their performances to judge due to COVID regulations. State will be hosted either in late May or early June. Good luck to everyone advancing and congratulations to all of those who participated. Great job everyone!

(Above) Junior Addyson Dority

Seniors (left to right) Claire Benavidez, Valentina Gasca-Tellez, and Diya Chandra

Pictured above is (left to right) Savannah Clark, Jadelyn Garcia, Abigail Perez, and Mya Cashiola.

(Above from left to right) Austin King, Cesar Garcia, Cody Mills, Reese Decker, Kristina Mertz.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *