The Last Mile

By: Gabby Palacios

Kassidy and a group of her supporters pictured after the state meet.

After placing 7th in the Varsity girls regional meet on Tuesday, November 10, Freshman Kassidy Vickers qualified for the UIL State Cross Country meet.

The people of Pleasanton held a send-off for Vickers on Monday, November 23 at the Pleasanton Sports Complex, where many community members showed up to wish Kassidy good luck and send their best wishes. Kassidy explained her gratitude for the support she received, stating, “It makes me really excited that I have people to support me and that they were there.”

Expressing that she has always been a runner, Kassidy explains, “It’s a nice way to stay in shape… Normally I get a mixture of really excited and I’ll also get sort of nervous, but I always have a lot of energy before I run… I work out often, I work out at home, I work out with the team, and I normally practice over the summer.”

Being a freshman advancing to state, Vickers felt excited, though she was initially shocked. “I was nervous because I knew that there were going to be a lot of really good people there but it was really exciting.”

The meet, which was held on Tuesday, November 24 in Round Rock, had a total of 124 runners participating in the two-mile distance meet. Vickers, placing 30th and running an outstanding 12:49, was about 3 places shy of medaling.

Though she did not receive a medal, Kassidy received the heartfelt gift of a group of her friends surprising her at the meet. “For most of them, it was their first time going to a meet, so it made me really excited to see them all and it made the meet better… I’m really thankful for [my friends and Coach Wood] for supporting me. I appreciate all of the time Coach Wood has dedicated to me and to make me better and a better person. I’ve learned so much from him.”

Congratulations on advancing to state and a job well done at the state meet, Kassidy! PHS can’t wait to see what you achieve in the future.

PRIDE PRIDE! EAGLE PRIDE!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *