New Teacher of The Year: Ms. Schulz

By: Kristina Mertz

Ms. Schulz may not be a familiar face around PHS, but she sure will be soon, because she has been chosen as the 2020-2021 New Teacher of the Year. She provides assistance for students who need additional support in their core classes.

Ms. Schulz says, “I am thrilled to be new teacher of the year, it’s rewarding to know that my co-workers see that I’m working really hard for my students and [it’s] really exciting because I feel like I have accomplished a lot.”

She attended college at St. Phillips, where she obtained her associates degree and later transferred to Texas A&M San Antonio where she earned a Bachelor’s degree in Interdisciplinary Studies.

“I was born in San Antonio and then I lived in Adkins, which is near LaVernia, and I have two kids, they’re both boys, six and two and a half.” She later added, “I think PHS found me. I also used to work in Jourdanton in the oil field (dispatching while I was in college), so [I] was used to the drive. It’s like it was meant to be.”

 Her favorite part about teaching children is, “Building relationships, I enjoy spending time with my students, because they make me happy.” Ms. Schulz said,  “I am looking forward to seeing my students grow as individuals and being able to see familiar faces.”

Her favorite part about PHS is “The family type atmosphere.” Congratulations Ms. Schulz on getting New Teacher of the Year!

Ms. Schulz as PHS’s 2020-2021 New Teacher of The Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *