Dominating in Dallas

By: Courtney Henson

The Pleasanton BPA members who advanced left on Wednesday, March 4, to participate in the state leadership conference. The conference took place in Dallas, TX this year. The teams and individuals who competed did very well! Robert Rutherford, Paige Hubert, Lauren Dowdy, and Delanee Ollivarri’s Global Marketing team received 1st place. Thomas Huizar, Jordan Haby, Andres Torres, and Nathaniel Gonzales received 5th place in their Broadcast News Production team event. Makenzie Pilgrim competed in Advanced Interview Skills and received 1st place. Isaac Garcia, who competed in Prepared Speech, got 9th place. The following students did not place but participated with their very best.  Adyson Brymer, Lauren Trapp, Brandi Barnett, and Ashlyn Vera’s Presentation Management team also competed. Kory Caballero participated in computer modeling. Alexis Ramos competed in Fundamental Word Processing. Alizay Rodriguez competed in Medical Office Procedures. PHS is proud of all BPA students who participated with their hard work.

This year, the Pleasanton BPA team had a few participants advance to the national competition, which sadly will not take place this year due to the spreading of COVID-19. The national qualifiers are the Global Marketing team, Lauren Dowdy, Paige Hubert, Delanee Olivarri, and Robert Rutherford, who received 1st place at state. Makenzie Pilgrim, who competed in Advanced Interview Skills and received 1st place at state, also advanced to nationals. The club also had a few national alternates: Isaac Garcia who got 9th place in Prepared Speech and the Broadcast News Production Team, Nathaniel Gonzales, Jordan Haby, Thomas Huizar, and Andres Torres, who placed 5th at state are also national alternates.

Alongside all of the qualifiers, there were also four Statesmen Torch Recipients; these were, Lauren Dowdy, Makenzie Pilgrim, Paige Hubert, and Delanee Olivarri. As well, both Makenzie Pilgrim received a $1,000 scholarship and Delanee Olivarri receiving a $500 scholarship. Also, Delanee Olivarri received Texas Statesman of the Year. Lastly, Isaac Garcia, regional officer, and Delanee Olivarri, State Parliamentarian, received Texas Officer Team.

Congratulations to everyone who participated and good job on your accomplishments! Here’s to a great BPA year. Pride! Pride!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *